Former Tanjung Aru Umno division chief Yahya Lampong has quit the party and joined PKR, just hours after former Sabah Umno treasurer Ibrahim Menudin did the same yesterday.

yahya lampongAccording to PKR’s organ Keadilan Daily, the announcement was made during the party’s Malaysia Day celebrations in Tuaran, Sabah last night, which was reportedly attended by about 10,000 people.

“That makes at least four prominent Sabah BN leaders who have left the regime within a month, making their position increasingly shaky,” read the report.

Yahya is also the vice-president of Malay rights pressure group Perkasa and is the chairperson of the Sabah state-owned Cement Industries Sabah Sdn Bhd (CIS), which is the sole-manufacturer of cement in the state.

He was sacked as the Tanjung Aru Umno division head in 2001. He also has a history of switching political allegiance.

Utusan Malaysia reported back in 1999 that he had joined the now-dissolved Federated Sabah People's Front (Bersekutu) for about 24 hours before returning to Umno, supposedly after realising his mistake and was ‘trapped’ by his political enemies.

More to follow?

ibrahim menudinLike Yahya, Ibrahim (right) is another a corporate figure, being the chairperson of Suria Capital Holdings Bhd, whose wholly-owned subsidiary Sabah Ports Sdn Bhd manages all eight ports in Sabah.

He is formerly the Sabah Umno treasurer.

PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim was present at both functions where Yahya and Ibrahim announced their decision to quit BN.

Other recent Sabah BN leaders to have pledged allegiance to Pakatan Rakyat are Wilfred Bumburing, the Tuaran MP, and Lajim Ukin, the Beaufort MP.

The duo have cited disenchantment with BN as their reasons for quitting, but critics claim that they are has-beens who are seeking greener pastures after learning that they won't be fielded as candidates.

Others being rumoured to follow suit are Former Land and Cooperative Development Minister Kasitah Gadam, former chief minister Osu Sukam and former Banggi state assemblyperson Amir Kahar Datu Mustapha.