Wednesday 26 September 2012

Constitutional change sought to 'strengthen' MACC chief

  • Aidila Razak
  • 2:08PM Sep 26, 2012
The special bipartisan committee on corruption is proposing a constitutional amendment to provide the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief security of tenure.

NONEAccording to committee chair and BN's Kangar MP Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad (right in photo), this is to elevate the chief commissioner to the "stature of a judge".

“At the moment, the appointment of the chief (is as such that) he can be dismissed by anybody, so if he is trying to investigate people, and I am a head of somewhere, I propose to change him, he can be changed just like that.

“But if you make him like a judge, then he can’t be dismissed at whims and fancies. One needs to form a tribunal.. it’s not easy to dismiss a judge so we want him to have that stature,” he said.

‘Freedom to hire and fire’

Speaking after a discussion with the MACC, which will continue in a fortnight, Mohd Radzi said that the committee is also proposing a services commission especially for the MACC.

This is to enable them to hire and fire people with greater flexibility, without having to go through the Public Services Department.

“This will help improve efficiency and the capabilities of the MACC because they are a special body, an investigative body, so they need heads and talented people,” he said.

He added that the proposed commission will be answerable to the special committee, through which they are answerable to Parliament.

The committee also proposed that its members - MPs from the opposition and government - be involved in the MACC’s public awareness campaigns.

Radzi said the proposal will have to be made before the ongoing parliamentary sitting ends as it has to be tabled in the Dewan Rakyat.

He said that all committee members have given an assurance that their party colleagues in the Dewan Rakyat will back the constitutional amendment as it requires two-thirds support.

Other committee members are Senator Doris Sophia AK Brodi, BN’s Kota Belud MP Abdul Rahman Dahlan, BN’s Maran MP Ismail Abdul Muttalib, DAP’s Kepong MP Dr Tan Seng Giaw, PAS’ Kubang Kerian MP Salahuddin Ayub and PKR’s Balik Pulau MP Yusmadi Yusoff.

No comments:

Post a Comment