Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad (KTMB) chairperson Mohd Zin Mohamed has refused to reveal the cost of the 'Sayangi Selangor' (Love Selangor) advertisement campaign which is prominently featured in KTM Komuter coaches and at its stations in the Klang Valley.

ktm sayangi selangor 150712Mohd Zin, who is also Selangor BN coordinator, said that the public campaign is paid for, but refused to divulge the identity of the advertiser.

"(The advertisement) is paid."

"What is wrong? Why is Malaysiakini so dengki (envious)?" he said grudgingly when pressed on the matter.

“"Are there BN symbols in the advertisement? No, right? So what is the problem?" he asked again while talking to reporters after distributing about 1,000 boxes of dates to passengers at the Shah Alam Komuter station.

He added that the question should be put to KTMB president Elias Kadir, who was also present at the event.

KTMB president dodges question

Asked if the dates that he was distributing was on behalf of KTMB, Mohd Zin again refused to give a straight answer.

NONE"See this? There is no KTMB log on it.

"This is a programme by (BN) Selangor," he said pointing at the logo of the packaging.

Attempts to get a direct response from Elias were also futile, as he too dodged questions on the financing of the campaign.

Instead, Elias requested that questions be directed to him through email.

"I cannot answer now. Send me an email. That way is better," he said.

On July 15, Malaysiakini had highlighted the glossy advertisement campaign which carried taglines such as "We hear your problems on cost of living" and "We hear and understand your needs on education".

ktm sayangi selangor 150712The main subject of the campaign is Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak, who is also Selangor Umno chief, depicting him with various groups, including children, with an emphasis on him listening to the grassroots.

The messages appear in the commuter train coaches, pillars on the platforms and train station escalators along the Klang-KL Sentral route, which passes mostly through Pakatan Rakyat-held seats.